Microsoft, oh Microsoft. It’s a love and hate relationship that has been with this company for many years now. After numerous E3 shows where they tried to show off their strenght, it just wasn’t enough to gain the traction they needed in order to best Sony or Nintendo.

However, that has certainly changed as 2017 came around the corner. Only through rumors and small hints given here and there from the company. Did we finally see the muscles they had build up over the year when their conference kicked off.

xbox-one-x-e3-2017-stage
The reveal of the new XboneX to the world!

Not only did we get the reveal of the formerly rumored Scorpio, to be called…and I kid you not…Xbox One X or Xbox One S. Shown and told to be the most powerful console as of now, with impressive specs, better hardware which include a cooling system, along with the price tag of $499.
Now I was genuinely suprised at just how much had been upgraded and how it would compare to the PS4 Pro that got unveiled at September 7, 2016. That seemed to be true as the specs got shown on a picture at the conference and it is good to see the ever lasting console wars are continuing to push the boundaries of blurring the border, between where PC has its advantages and consoles lag behind in term of technology, as well as being made clear that it is the smallest console that Microsoft has ever produced. I however, will be referring to it as XboneX or XboneS.

3245925-slackforiosupload
Here we get a short peak at what the XboneX power has in store!

They also made it quite clear for us gamers that 2017 and 2018 was gonna be different, a lot of new games would come out. In fact, they announced that a total of 42 games would be shown at the conference in which 22 of them was going to be Xbox exclusives…22!!…That is something I like to hear, because it shows the commitment the company has to its fanbase, wanting to make something that would bring smiles to their faces and bring people together (something Nintendo also will be talking about later, but this is Microsoft I’m going with right now).

So what games was revealed to us exactly? That is what I’ll be talking about after just making sure you understand that these are my opinions and may be different from yours. Other than that let’s get to it!…

 

Original Xbox Game Backwards Compatibility

One of the biggest highlights that came out of the show after the console reveal, which also got a crowd roaring with happiness, was that backwards compatibility support for Xbox games was expanding its playing field. Before it was only Xbox 360 that you were able to play on the Xbox One, but now it’s adding more than 385 to its catalog of games. Original Xbox games…as in the OG games many grew up with, are coming later this year, starting out with an old game called Crimson Skies.

 

Anthem

Back once again to be fully explored with gameplay was Bioware’s new IP known as Anthem, which only got a teaser at the EA conference. This is shown to be a big game from its developer.
In this game you play as something called a Freelancer (ironic name what seems to be a mercenary type), a member of a group that venture into a landscape of primeval beauty and encounter dangerous obstacles, which helps you grow to become more powerful the further in the story you go.

Just looking through the trailer it was clear that we still will be roaming in an RPG and I love it. RPG’s are one, if not the favorite genre for me in video games…just as long it fits with the premise and game itself. I simply love how you can gain new, better equipment and tune it to a specific style that suits one self when fighting enemies. Roaming around to find hidden treasure or just explore for the lore to unveil in front of my eyes.
Yes, I really liked what I saw with this game. There was almost no clutter of a HUD and the UI was very simplistic in its design, when you were changing weapons. Movement looked to be a little more crisp, but sadly this was also one of those gameplay videos where everything is heavily scripted. So I had to take it with a grain of salt as it played out, but the things that you could gather was there are multiple exo-suits to use.

These exo-suits are your characters bread and butter, it withholds the role you are going to take as this game will be drop in, drop out coop. There are different types of weapons to be used and a short glimpse of maybe abilities as well.

I look forward to hearing more news from this game and it is one I definitely will be having on my “to watch list” for games coming in 2018.

 

Minecraft 4K

I had not seen this one coming and I did sigh when it came on stage. Well the good news is that Minecraft will be getting a 4K texture pack as well as being able to play in 4K. It’s no secret how big Minecraft is still today, but sadly I never could find out what the interest was in this game and even what made it so good for so many.
Yet it’s still one of the most popular game to date, even on Youtube where millions of videos involving this game comes out every hour or so.

It may sound like I hate the game, but I don’t. It just never caught my interest and even when I played, I walked away after an hour or two because it was too boring.

That isn’t to say there was some good news in this showcase. It did reveal that Minecraft was going to be re-launched as a unified product, this included cross-play support between not only Xbone, PC and mobile, but suprisingly Nintendo Switch as well. These news are great for people, which means that they can gather around this game and have fun, even if they are on different platforms.
Microsoft had discussions with Sony about the possibility of cross-play, but sadly nothing has come of it as of yet. I can only hope that it will become something in the near future.

 

Forza Motorsport 7

More racing came forth in the competing game to Gran Turismo, known as Forza Motorsport 7. This could only be said to look beautiful and it really is.
Though nothing much was shown other than the trailer which said that you could play it in 4K, you could also in this game collect over 700 cars, including the largest assortment of Ferraris, Porsches and Lamborghinis. Being able to play on 30 famous environments with different race conditions that could change everytime you played.

As I said back at my EA E3 post, I have a love for racing games since I was a child. My father introduced me to the world of racing and I love playing it with him whenever we can, if we’re not just sitting and watching a motorsport unfold on the TV.
There’s a chance I might be getting this, but I will look at the reviews when it comes out on October 3, 2017 and November 7, 2017 for the XboneX.

 

Sea of Thieves

Probably the biggest game to be shown that I have looked forward to see some gameplay of, since it was teased a while ago is Sea of Thieves, made by the fantastic studio Rare…or Rareware back on Nintendo 64.

This game man, looks to be a fun game that you can play with friends or just strangers from afar. Being able to live out your dreams as a pirate, going for the booty and plunder the seas with terror as you explore a vast ocean with horrors and mythical adventures.

Its style looks to be a mixture between cartoony and stop motion clay animation. However, it truly makes the game seem unique in its approach to a genre that hasn’t been doing so well.
Though not specified how many that can play together, it’s clear to see there a no minimap, no 3rd person camera angle to show the whole ship when sailing. Like in Guns of Icarus, you and your crew must communicate what each is doing, how to steer the ship towards the desired destination. Even when making combat with skeletons, sharks or other pirates. There are a few ways you can go about it, with shooting limited rounds of the heavy or light pistol, or melee with the sword.

Every aspect of this game has been made clear in the video that its all about exploration, roleplaying and fun with others.
I will be getting this game as soon as it comes out, since my friends and I are already talking what our plans for sailing the seven seas would be like.

 

Metro Exodus

Next up is the new Metro game and damn was it a good suprise to see what it had in store for us. The latest installment in the Metro series, Exodus seems to be set in an open world, which is unlike the more linear games of Metro 2033 and Metro: Last Light.
Plus it also showed that there was a way to play more stealthy with some sort of crossbow if you so desired. As well as new monsters to encounter that you either have to run from or fight with different things at your disposal.

I’ve never gotten around to play the Metro games myself other than seeing streams and full let’s plays of it. The lore behind this universe fascinated me a lot. So I might be getting around to try them out in preparing for when Metro Exodus arrives on the shelves in 2018.

 

Ori and the Will of the Wisps

This trailer for a game that came up next touch at my heartstrings. Ori and the Will of the Wisps is the sequel to Ori and the Blind Forest, which seems to be going with a story that seems more dark, but also beautiful.

Ori and the Blind Forest was a delightful and challenging game I never got to finish, yet I can still remember its visual style and the music that played in my headset. To that I’m happy that Ori and the Will of the Wisps are in the works, with a possible release in 2018. Nevertheless, I look forward to see more from this game and will be having it on my list for games I want to play in the near future.

 

Assassin’s Creed Origins

Though a small trailer, it was good to see Assassin’s Creed come back from its small hiatus since Assassin’s Creed Syndicate. This time we are in Egypt where apparently according to the title itself, get the beginning of the Assassins that we have been a part of since Altair came into our lives.

More gameplay would be shown at Ubisoft’s conference, so there isn’t much else that can be said here other than it’s good to see a champ from a series that is one of my favorite franchises coming back again.

 

Middle-Earth: Shadow of War

It was good to see a little more from developer Monolith Studio, with their sequel to Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor.

This time around we got a better glimpse in how the upgraded Nemesis system worked with taking over Warlords instead of just outright killing them. Plus it seems that there are newer abilities and better personalities to all these orcs in Mordor.

To write it all down would not be possible, you have to see the video in order to understand the improvements that have been made to the game from the previous title. However, I do not hope it falls into the same hole with too repetitive gameplay. It is still a game I will look out for when reviews arrive before making my decision, to if I should buy it or move on to something else.

State of Decay 2

Do you all want to play another zombie game?! Yeah, I never cared for State of Decay as I’m tired of the zombie genre in video games.

Though the game itself from the trailer revealed seems to withhold some interesting aspects of being bigger than the last game. However, I will not be getting this or even look in its direction, yet I can say that people who enjoyed the first game, might be getting a good amount of hours worth for the money payed when it comes out.

Super Lucky’s Tale

3D PLATFORMER IS BACK PEOPLE!!! Man was it refreshing to see a good old platformer returning with a light hearted world and lovable characters.

Super Lucky’s Tale was only something I briefly heard about a year ago, but to see its trailer now has me excited as platformers was what I played when I was a child.
The only thing that was revealed of this game, is that it would be a VR title and that makes it interesting, as you would get to see the world at different angles, while controlling Lucky through the strange world he lives in.

What is the story? I have honestly no idea, but it seems to be an adventure you experience. I will definitely be watching out for this game when it releases at a later time.

PlayerUnknown’s Battleground

No surprise that PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds would arrive on the Xbox. It has an enormous following on Twitch streams and it seems to be a fun game to play, if you like to be on a deserted island with hundreds of others. In a Hunger Games like situation where last man standing is the winner of the game.

I might be getting this game, but it will not be on console though, as many of my friends are on the PC version. Who knows…there might be a chance for cross-play but I doubt it.

Black Desert Online

Black Desert Online is coming to Xbone and this is good. Because it can compete with Final Fantasy XIV which is playing on both PC and PS4, where both play with each other.
Since Black Desert Online is a successful game with many active players, there is the potential to gain a bigger following and hopefully have cross-play with the PC version.

Personally, I have never tried Black Desert Online, only seen footage of it but it has had my interest. So it might be a possibility that I will be getting this game when it comes out. Though it didn’t leave that much of an impact as I had hoped it would.

Crackdown 3

An exlusive for the Xbone, Crackdown 3’s official trailer was finally shown at Microsoft’s conference and it was hilarious to see Terry Crews be as energetic as always. In a game that seems to be open world mayhem, where factions fight against each other to gain control of zones. However, in doing so, they destroy everything…and I mean EVERYTHING in their path to glory and victory.

It looks like a fun 3rd person action shooter, where you step up in different characters or superpowered agents, in trying to take back the city. Nevertheless, I do want to try this game and with the possibility around November 7, 2017, it could be an interesting day when the mayhem starts.

Dragon Ball FighterZ

Finally a true Dragon Ball fighting game has arrived. I have played a few previous titles plus Xenoverse (shutter). Some were good, but it’s nothing compared to Dragon Ball FighterZ, not only does it shine its graphics department as it has truly gone through with the true 2D anime look, mixed in with the 3D characters.

As fighting games go, it also needs to be precise in its mechanics and execution with attacks and combos, which it looks like it has done.

I want to try this game when it comes out, though my favorite fighting game of all time will always be Tekken. It does seem to be something that would be a joy to play just for a few hour sessions. There’s no doubt in my mind, this game will get a good competitive scene in which many will compete for glory against each other.

 

The Last Night

Yes, yes and so many more yes. It caught me with surprise this game called The Last Night and oh boy does it look good. I’m talking about a pixel game with heavy lighting effects, what seems to be a story inspired by the movie Bladerunner (1982) and Dark City (1998).

This trailer is something you have to see to get why it looks beautiful but seems to be a game with an interesting story and protagonist.
I will be looking forward to when it comes out and even when more news about it circles forth around the internet.

 

Overall thoughts

So that was Microsoft’s E3 conference and it have some highs and lows, though I didn’t cover all games mentioned, these are the ones I believed was worth talking about. Overall I did find Microsoft’s show to be better than EA, but that is also because of them showing off the newest Xbone console, and mentioning the fact that there will be 22 exclusives out of the 42 games they had on stage to show.

There is much to look forward to and from the ones I’ve talked about in this post, there are a few I look forward to see more about or getting when out. Especially Sea of Thieves and The Last Night are probably the best games to be revealed from Microsoft.
It’s going to be interesting to see how well they will do at next year’s E3—

I have never own an Xbox in my life, was always a Playstation kid. Though I did try it out at a friends house from time to time. What I can say is this conference have made me more interested to get one in order to play many of the games that had been shown to the audience.

So what were your thoughts on this conference from our dear Microsoft? Did you find it enjoyable or was is one of the worse shows this year of E3? Tell me in the comments what your opinions are, so we all can make good conversations with each other.

Stay Cozy and have a nice day!

